African Nations Cup: Ghana Unveils Players’ Squad Numbers

The Black Stars have been issued with their shirt numbers for the Nations Cup in Angola…
The Ghana squad selected for the 2010 African Cup of Nations in Angola have been given their squad numbers ahead of the tournament.

Captain Michael Essien maintains his No. 8 shirt with Samuel Inkoom wearing 7.

The official website of the Ghana FA announced youngster Jonathan Mensah has been handed the No. 5 shirt usually worn by John Mensah who is out injured.

Forward Ransford Osei wears the No. 4 jersey normally reserved for John Paintsil, another player who would be missing from the competition due to injury.

Kwadwo Asamoah will wear the No. 10 for the second successive time. The Udinese player was handed the same number in the previous CAN tournament in place of injured skipper Stephen Appiah.

Ghana squad numbers

1 McCarthy Phelimon (Accra Hearts of Oak, Ghana)
2 Sarpei Hans Adu Sarpei (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)
3 Gyan Asamoah (Stade Rennias, France)
4 Osei Ransford (FC Twente, Holland)
5 Mensah Jonathan (Granada, Spain)
6 Annan Anthony (Rosenborg, Norway)
7 Inkoom Samuel (FC Basel, Switzerland)
8 Essien Micheal (Chelsea, England)
9 Agyemang Opoku (Al Saad, Qatar)
10 Asamoah Kwadwo (Udinese, Italy)
11 Narry Moussa (Auxerre, France)
12 Addy Lee (Bechem Chelsea, Ghana)
13 Ayew Andre (Arles, France)
14 Amoah Mathew (NAC Breda, Holland)
15 Vorsah Isaac (Hoffenhiem, Germany)
16 Adyei Daniel (Liberty Professionals, Ghana)
17 Ayew Ibrahim (Zamalek, Egypt)
18 Addo Eric (Roda JC, Holland)
19 Badu Emmanuel Agyeman (Udinese, Italy)
20 Adiyiah Dominic (Milan, Italy)
21 Afful Harrison (Esperance, Tunisia)
22 Kingson Richard (Wigan, England)
23 Draman Haminu (Krasnodor, Russia)

K.N.S. Mensah,