Egypt Coach Hassan Shehata Reveals Provisional African Cup Of Nations Roster

Thirty-two players have been called up by Shehata but only 23 will make the trip to Angola.
Egyptian national team coach Hassan Shehata held a press conference today in Cairo during which he revealed a provisional list of 32 players who were being called up for the Pharaoh's pre-African Cup of Nations training camp.

The squad will then be trimmed to 23 at some point prior to the December 31st deadline for the submission of team sheets to CAF.

One major surprise in the list is the presence team talisman Mohamed Aboutrika who had previously been reported to be out of consideration given that he has a broken bone in his foot. However, it appears that his coach would like to have his own medical staff evaluate his condition before making a final decision on whether he should join the team or not.

“Aboutrika and Mido will have fitness tests on Saturday after which their availability will be determined,” explained Shehata according to

Both Amr Zaki and Mohamed Barakat were overlooked due to their respective injuries while Mohamed Shawky was also excluded due to fitness concerns. Another player who was surprisingly left out was Mohamed Hommos.

Receiving their first call up are Al Ahly goalkeeper Ahmed Adel and midfielder Mostafa Shebeita while Hossam Ghaly makes a return to the team after an extended absence.

Below is the squad in full

Goalkeepers: Essam Al-Hadary (Ismaili), Ahmed Adel (Ahli), Abdel-Wahed Al-Sayed (Zamalek), Mahmoud Aboul-Saoud (Mansoura)

: Wael Gomaa, Sayed Moawad, Ahmed Fathi, Sherif Abdel-Fadil (Ahli), Mahmoud Fathallah, Hani Said, Mohamed Abdul-Shafi, Hazem Emam (Zamalek), Moatassem Salem, Ahmed Samir Farag (Ismaili), Ahmed El-Mohammadi (ENPPI), Abdul-Zaher Al-Saqqa (Eskisehirspor, Turkey)

: Ahmed Hassan, Mohamed Aboutrika, Mostafa Shebeita (Ahli), Shikabala (Zamalek), Abdul-Aziz Tawfik (ENPPI), Walid Soliman, Mohamed Shaaban (Petrojet), Ahmed Eid (Harras Hodoud), Hosni Abd-Rabou (Ahli, UAE), Hossam Ghaly (Nassr, Saudi Arabia)

Strikers: Emad Meteb (Ahli), Mido (Zamalek), Ahmed Raouf (ENPPI), Al-Sayed Hamdi (Petrojet), Geddo (Ittihad), Mohamed Zidan (Dortmund, Germany)

Rami Ayari,