thumbnail Hello,
The World Cup 2014 European qualifying pots revealed

The World Cup 2014 European qualifying pots revealed

Getty Images

The 53 European football nations have learned the pots they belong to in preparation of witnessing the qualifying groups for the tournament in Brazil in just under three years

Fifa has announced the pot allocations for the draw for the 2014 World Cup qualifiers, which in Europe's case will throw together all the 53 Uefa member associations.

These 53 nations have been divided into six different pots, based on the latest edition of the Fifa World Rankings, which were released on Wednesday. Each pot contains nine teams, except the sixth pot, which features the lowest-ranked sides and has just eight teams.

The teams will be drawn into eight groups of six teams and one of five, with the latter particular group having just teams from pots 1 to 5.

Pot 1
Pot 2
Pot 3
Pot 4
Pot 5
Pot 6
France Switzerland Bulgaria Armenia   Wales
Netherlands Montenegro Israel Romania Finland Liechtenstein
Germany Russia   Republic of Ireland Georgia
  Estonia Iceland
England Sweden Belgium
  Lithuania Cyprus
Portugal Denmark Czech Republic
  Albania Latvia
Italy Slovenia   Bosnia-Herzegovina   Scotland   Moldova Malta
Croatia Turkey   Belarus   Northern Ireland FYR Macedonia
Norway Serbia Ukraine
  Azerbaijan San Marino
Greece Slovakia   Hungary   Poland  Faroe Islands  

France's placement comes as the biggest surprise in the allocation, as the 1998 World Cup winners failed to make the cut for Pot 1 and are not seeded, falling behind Norway and Greece.

The draw for the European qualifying stage will be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, on Saturday, at 1900 BST. The nine group winners will be assured of a place at the World Cup, while the eight-best runners-up will enter a two-legged play-off stage to determine the last four European participants.