thumbnail Hello,

With Philipp Lahm and Bastian Schweinsteiger sidelined by injuries, the Lazio striker has been selected to lead his team as they take on the 2006 World Cup runners-up in Bremen

Germany coach Joachim Low has selected veteran Miroslav Klose to captain his side in Wednesday's international friendly against France.

Skipper Philipp Lahm and deputy Bastian Schweinsteiger are both absent from die Mannschaft, and the trainer has therefore called upon the second-most capped player in the history of the German national team, Klose, to serve as captain.

In place of the absent leaders, Low has chosen to use Dennis Aogo and Toni Kroos at left back and in defensive midfield, respectively, while Andre Schurrle stands in for the unselected Lukas Podolski on the left wing. Monchengladbach star Marco Reus has also been named to Low's starting line-up, and will play on the right wing in place of Thomas Muller, who starts from the bench.

Low has also shuffled his back five tactically, with Tim Wiese beginning the game in goal, and Jerome Boateng filling in at right-back. With Per Mertesacker injured, Mats Hummels and Holger Badstuber start in central defence.

For France, head coach Laurent Blanc has selected Olivier Giroud to lead the French attack, deputising for injured Real Madrid star Karim Benzema.

Behind Giroud, Manchester City playmaker Samir Nasri has been nominated instead of a second centre forward. Mathieu Valbuena and Franck Ribery round off the front four on the right and left wings, respectively.

At the back, Blanc has kept the core of his defence, with Adil Rami and Philippe Mexes in the centre. Mathieu Debuchy starts at right-back, while Eric Abidal has been selected ahead of Patrice Evra on the left.

Kick-off from the Weserstadion is scheduled for 20.45CET.

Germany (4-2-3-1): Wiese; Boateng, Hummels, Badstuber, Aogo; Khedira, Kroos; Reus, Ozil, Schurrle; Klose

Subs: Neuer, Schmelzer, Howedes, Trasch, Rolfes, Muller, L. Bender

France (4-2-3-1): Lloris; Debuchy, Rami, Mexes, Abidal; M'Vila, Cabaye; Valbuena, Nasri, Ribery; Giroud

Subs: Saha, Menez, Malouda, Sakho, Reveillere, Evra, Mandanda