Shaqiri named in young Switzerland squad

The Bayern attacker has been struggling for fitness lately but has been included in the nation's World Cup selection alongside he likes of Stephan Lichtsteiner and Gokhan Inler

Ottmar Hitzfeld has named a young Switzerland squad to travel to Brazil for the World Cup next month, with Bayern Munich attacker Xherdan Shaqiri among the star names.

There are no players currently over 30 years of age in a youthful party to travel to the finals, with Swiss fans hoping the likes of Shaqiri and Josip Drmic can fire them into the knockout stages.

Hitzfeld's men were placed in the draw as one of the top seeds due to their ranking at the time, and have been drawn in Group E, against France, Honduras and Ecuador.

Bayern's Shaqiri is the star name in the squad, and is fit after recovering from a thigh injury suffered in a Bundesliga match against Augsburg in April 5.

Likewise goalkeeper Diego Bengaglio and defenders Philippe Senderos and Fabian Schar have all overcome knocks and feature in the squad which shows few surprises.

Bayer Leverkusen's Eren Derdiyok misses out on being included in the 23 after starting just four Bundesliga games for Bayer Leverkusen this season.

The striker is included on the standby list, as is Fulham's Pajtim Kasami, who Hitzfeld explained had not been playing regularly enough for his club side.

Goalkeepers: Diego Benaglio (Wolfsburg), Roman Burki (Grasshoppers), Yann Sommer (Basel)

Defenders: Johan Djourou (Hamburg), Michael Lang (Grasshoppers), Stephan Lichtsteiner (Juventus), Ricardo Rodriguez (Wolfsburg), Fabian Schar (Basel), Philippe Senderos (Aston Villa), Steve von Bergen (Young Boys), Reto Ziegler (Sassuolo)

Midfielders: Tranquillo Barnetta (Eintracht Frankfurt), Valon Behrami (Napoli), Blerim Dzemaili (Napoli), Gelson Fernandes (Freiburg), Gokhan Inler (Napoli), Xherdan Shaqiri (Bayern Munich), Valentin Stocker (Hertha Berlin), Granit Xhaka (Borussia Monchengladbach)

Forwards: Josip Drmic (Nuremberg), Mario Gavranovic (Zurich), Admir Mehmedi (Freiburg), Haris Seferovic (Real Sociedad)

On standby: Eren Derdiyok (Bayer Leverkusen), Fabian Frei (Basel), Marwin Hitz (Augsburg), Pajtim Kasami (Fulham), Timm Klose (Wolfsburg), Pirmin Schwegler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Silvan Widmar (Udinese)