Referee cheated us, says Ethiopia coach

Sewnet Bishaw was quick to praise opposite number Stephen Keshi but insists his side were denied clear penalty shouts before Victor Moses scored his spot-kick
Ethiopia coach Sewnet Bishaw criticised the performance of the referee in their 2-0 World Cup play-off second-leg loss to Nigeria on Saturday.

Victor Moses set the African giants on their way from the spot after a controversial penalty was awarded by match official Bakary Gassama for an unintentional hand-ball from Aynalem Hailu.

Saladin Said then had a notable penalty appeal turned down in the second half, although Bishaw feels the tide had already been turned by the award of Moses' spot-kick.

"I respect [Nigeria boss Stephen] Keshi; he has done a good job organising this team," the 61-year-old told reporters.

"But the ref cheated us. We had two penalties denied us. And then he awarded one wrong one to Nigeria.

"That penalty to Nigeria affected the tide.”

A free kick from Victor Obinna settled matters in Calabar and ensured the Africa Cup of Nations champions will enter the draw for the World Cup group stage on December 6 with a 4-1 aggregate win.