Afellay, Nigel de Jong, Van der Vaart & Van der Wiel left out of Oranje squad for upcoming World Cup qualifiers

The 2010 World Cup finalists will be without several familiar faces for the upcoming qualifiers, while Janmaat, Clasie and Dost could make their debut
Netherlands coach Louis van Gaal has announced his 23-man squad for the upcoming 2014 World Cup qualifiers against Turkey on September 7 and versus Hungary four days later.

The former Barcelona and Bayern Munich boss has opted to leave out regulars such as Rafael van der Vaart, Nigel de Jong, Ibrahim Afellay and Gregory van der Wiel.

"They have not played much and are busy with transfers. You have to be fit in order to perform well and these guys have not played enough. The door is still open for them, though," explained Van Gaal at a press conference.

Feyenoord defender Daryl Janmaat received an invitation for the national side for the first time, while Jordy Clasie and Bas Dost are both in line to make their debut for Oranje as well.

Holland will also have to deal with Romania, Estonia and Andorra in Group D of the 2014 World Cup qualification campaign.

Full squad:

Name Club
Tim Krul Newcastle
Maarten Stekelenburg Roma
Michel Vorm Swansea
John Heitinga Everton
Joris Mathijsen Feyenoord
Bruno Martins Indi Feyenoord
Daryl Janmaat Feyenoord
Ricardo van Rhijn Ajax
Nick Viergever AZ
Ron Vlaar Aston Villa
Jetro Willems PSV
Jordy Clasie Feyenoord
Urby Emanuelson AC Milan
Leroy Fer Twente
Wesley Sneijder Inter
Kevin Strootman PSV
Bas Dost Wolfsburg
Klaas-Jan Huntelaar Schalke
Dirk Kuyt Fenerbahce
Jeremain Lens PSV
Luciano Narsingh PSV
Robin van Persie Manchester United
Arjen Robben Bayern Munich