World Cup 2010: Brazil Striker Luis Fabiano Admits 'Accidental' Handball During Cote D'Ivoire Win

The striker claimed the use of his arm when scoring his second goal was not intentional...

Brazil forward Luis Fabiano has admitted the use of a hand in the build-up to his clinical second goal during tonight's 3-1 victory over Cote D'Ivoire in Soccer City.

Sevilla striker Fabiano lashed in the opening goal, before seemingly using an arm to deflect the ball into his path when making the score 2-0 in the second half.

The referee allowed the goal to stand, and Elano added a third before Didier Drogba's late consolation strike, to see the five-time champions qualify for the knockout stages.

Speaking to journalists after the final whistle, Fabiano said of his goals, "I was working hard but the goal was not showing. I was relieved to have finally scored.

"The ball touched my hand but it was accidental, so I think it was a legal goal".

Fabiano has also been hotly tipped to finish the tournament as leading scorer, and his two goals edged him closer to current Golden Boot leader, Argentine Gonzalo Higuain.

However, the striker stated he didn't consider setting himself a target, adding, "I don't have a number of goals that I'm trying to reach in this World Cup.

"I will keep working and try to score as many goals as I can".

Become a fan of International on Facebook! Just click onto to join the beautiful game's leading fan community...