Terry claims sending off was unintentional during Chelsea's Champions League tie against Barcelona

The defender was handed a straight red card after the assistant referee spotted his knee being thrust into Alexis Sanchez's back after 37 minutes

John Terry has allegedly claimed he did not thrust his knee into Alexis Sanchez which resulted in the Chelsea defender being handed a straight red card against Barcelona.

Sky Sports reported that Terry claimed Sanchez had 'checked his run' which caused the Chelsea captain to shift his weight onto his back foot, which in turn resulted in the defender's knee being raised into the Barcelona forward's back.

Terry also pointed out that he had not been cautioned throughout the current Champions League campaign and claimed he would not jeopardise Chelsea's chances of progressing to the final by risking a dismissal.

The 31-year-old will subsequently be handed a three-game ban by Uefa and will miss the final if Chelsea progress past Barcelona.

Terry's sending off, which was spotted by the assistant referee, came less than three minutes after Barcelona levelled the tie through Sergio Busquets.

Andres Iniesta soon added a second for Barcelona to send the Champions League holders into a 2-1 aggregate lead, but, just a minute after receiving a yellow card that would rule him out of the final, Chelsea midfielder Ramires chipped Victor Valdes to hand Roberto Di Matteo's side a lifeline.

The game current stands 2-2 on aggregate, with Chelsea leading on away goals, while Lionel Messi missed a penalty in the second half.

Stay up-to-date with the latest match action from Camp Nou, and the Premier League clash between Aston Villa and Bolton on our dedicated LIVE! page.