APOEL clinch 22nd title

The Cypriot giants sealed their 22nd league title on Sunday due to their nearest rivals, Anorthosis Famagusta, surrendering their title bid with a 4-0 loss
APOEL Nicosia have been crowned champions of Cyprus for a 22nd time in their 86-year history after their nearest competitors Anorthosis Famagusta slipped up and were beaten 4-0 on Sunday.

Ivan Jovanovic's men spurned the opportunity to seal the title on Saturday following their 1-0 defeat to AEK Larnaca before local rivals Omonia Nicosia did them a favour by ending Famagusta's title-charge.

It is Jovanovic's third title since returning to the club in 2008 and fourth overall having led the Cypriots to league success in 2004 during his first spell in charge.

In addition to domestic success, the Serbian coach also garnered acclaim on the continent for guiding APOEL to the quarter-finals of the Champions League in 2012 and, with another title under their belt, the club are set to enter the qualification rounds to play in next year's competition.

Omonia, Anorthosis and AEK will now battle it out in an attempt to secure the two Europa League places on offer.