AFF Cup 2012 draw: Indonesia join the causeway derby between Malaysia and Singapore in Group B

The top eight teams will vie to become the best in the region in the ninth edition of the biennial tournament, co-hosted by Thailand and Malayan nation
The group stage of the AFF Cup 2012 , Southeast Asia's most-prestigious biennial tournament, has been announced in Bangkok.

Six teams automatically qualify for the main stage of the event, including previous semi-finalists Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines and Vietnam.

Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Brunei and Timor Leste will compete in a single round-robin group from October 5-13 in Yangon, Myanmar, with the top two teams qualifying for the final stage.

In Group B, 2010 titleholders Malaysia will face a causeway derby against Singapore along with their main rival, Indonesia, and the runner-up of the qualifying round.

Three-time winners Thailand and Vietnam have been drawn into Group A with Philippines and the winner of the other qualifying round.

The group stage of the tournament is scheduled for November 24 and will run until December 1, and will be played at the Rajamangala Stadium in Thailand and Bukit Jalil Stadium in Malaysia.

The two groups:

Group A: Thailand, Vietnam, Philippines and qualifying group winner

Group B: Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore and qualifying group runner-up