thumbnail Hello,

The draw of the 50th edition of the Copa Libertadores was made in Asuncion, Paraguay, on Tuesday. Peruvian teams were excluded from the draw because of a long-running feud between the government of the country and FIFA...

The draw of the 50th edition of South America's most prestigious club competition, the Copa Libertadores, was made in Asuncion, Paraguay, on Tuesday.

The competition will take place between the 11th of February and the 29th of April.

Defending champions, Liga Deportiva Universitaria were grouped with teams from Brazil, Chile and either another team from Brazil or one from Bolivia in Group 1. For now the only team who have been confirmed in their group are Sport Recife, the winners of the Copa do Brasil.

Former Copa Libertadores winners River Plate and Nacional of Montevideo will meet in Group 3, while Uruguayan champions Defensor Sporting are the only team confirmed in Group 4 so far. They could be joined by compatriots Penarol if they manage to overcome a Colombian team in a preliminary match.

Universidad de Sucre are the only team known in Group 5, while Group 6 is made up of Lanus, Everton, Caracas FC, and a team from Mexico.

Finally, Aurora and Boyaca Chico will meet in Group 7, while Libertad and San Luis are the only teams identified in Group 8.

The round of sixteen stage of the tournament will take place between the 6th and 13th of May; the quarter-finals between the 20th and 27th of the same month; the semi-finals will be between the 17th and 24th of June, while the final will be played on the 1st and 8th of July.

Group 1

Liga Deportiva Universitaria (Ecuador)

Chile 2

Sport Recife (Brazil)

Winner 5 - between Brasil 5-Bolivia 3

Group 2:

Argentina 3

Paraguay 2

Deportivo Tachira (Venezuela)

Winner 4 - between Deportivo Anzoategui (Venezuela)-Ecuador 3

Group 3:

River Plate (Argentina)

Nacional (Uruguay)

Vacante 2 (Peruvian team)

Winner 3 - between Ecuador 4-Paraguay 3

Group 4:

Brasil 1

Defensor Sporting (Uruguay)

Colombia 2

Winner between - 1 Colombia 3-Penarol (Uruguay)

Group 5:

Brasil 3

Universidad de Sucre (Bolivia)

Ecuador 2

Winner 2 - between Vacant (Peruvian team) 3-Argentina 5

Group 6:

Lanus (Argentina)

Everton (Chile)

Caracas FC (Venezuela)

Mexico 2

Group 7:

Brasil 2

Aurora (Bolivia)

Boyaca Chico (Colombia)

Winner - between 6 Universidad de Chile-Mexico 3

Group 8:

Argentina 4

Libertad (Paraguay)

Vacant 1 (Peruvian team)

San Luis (Mexico)

Gregory Sica,