thumbnail Hello,
TEAM NEWS: Diego Forlan returns as Inter revert to three-man defence against Roma

TEAM NEWS: Diego Forlan returns as Inter revert to three-man defence against Roma

Getty Images

More changes suffice for Gian Piero Gasperini, who opts to go with a three-man rearguard as opposed to the four men at the back that featured against Trabzonspor in midweek

Inter coach Gian Piero Gasperini has decided to revert to a three-man defensive system for their Serie A clash with Roma rather than the four-man set-up that was utilised in their Champions League defeat to Trabzonspor on Wednesday.

Despite seeing his 3-4-3 formation seemingly fail, with two competitive losses in as many matches, the former Genoa tactician has decided to renege on the 4-3-1-2 system that he experimented with midweek and try out a 3-5-2 instead.

As a result of their tactical alterations, right-back Jonathan and forwards Mauro Zarate and Giampaolo Pazzini have been dropped in favour of Walter Samuel, Diego Milito and Diego Forlan, whilst Wesley Sneijder drops into central midfield.

Meanwhile, for Luis Enrique's Roma, several changes have also been made from their disappointing 2-1 defeat to Cagliari last weekend.

Jose Angel is suspended after picking up a red card against the Sardinians, with Rodrigo Taddei replacing the Spaniard at left-back, whilst Aleandro Rosi is surprisingly replaced by Simone Perrotta to form an attack-minded full-back setup.

In addition, fellow new signing Bojan is dropped from attack and Fabio Borini starts in his place tonight.

Fernando Gago, however, continues to be denied of his full Roma debut, as he remains on the substitutes’ bench, but Simon Kjaer lines up to make his Roma bow.

Kick-off at San Siro is at 20:45 (CET)

Inter (3-5-2):
Julio Cesar; Lucio, Samuel, Ranocchia; Obi, Sneijder, Cambiasso, Zanetti, Nagatomo; Milito, Forlan

Subs: Castellazzi, Jonathan, Muntari, Alvarez, Coutinho, Zarate, Pazzini

Roma (4-3-3): Stekelenburg; Taddei, Burdisso, Kjaer, Taddei; Pizarro, De Rossi, Pjanic; Osvaldo, Borini, Totti

Subs: Lobont, Heinze, Cassetti, Rosi, Gago, Borriello, Bojan