Bafana Bafana coach Igesund shows his hand for Afcon squad

Selection for Malawi friendly and additional players added afterwards likely to form basis for South Africa's 2013 Africa Cup of Nations squad
Bafana Bafana coach Gordon Igesund has named his squad for the international friendly with Malawi at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban on December 22.

Igesund also listed another 12 players who would join the team’s camp on December 27, with those 36 players then set to be trimmed to 23 for the Africa Cup of Nations on January 9, a day after Bafana play Norway in a friendly in Cape Town.

In the squad for the Malawi game there is a deserved call-up for 20-year-old attacking midfielder Ayanda Patosi, who has been outstanding for Lokeren in Belgium this season.

Russian-based defender Siyanda Xulu also gets a call after his exploits with FC Rostov over the past few months.

Orlando Pirates goalkeeper Senzo Meyiwa is one of three goalkeepers, along with regular number one Itumeleng Khune and Wayne Sandilands.

May Mahlangu earns a recall after he missed the friendly with Zambia last month, while Platinum Stars’ in-form winger Thuso Phala keeps his place in the squad after making his debut against Chipolopolo.

Just three strikers have been selected, two coming from Kaizer Chiefs in Bernard Parker and Lehlohonolo Majoro, as well as Malmo forward Tokelo Rantie.

The 12 players selected to join the squad on December 27 are largely made up of the overseas contingent, bar the Pirates pair of Benni McCarthy and Andile Jali, as well as Mamelodi Sundowns Katlego Mphela.

Included in the group is Thulani Serero, who is just returning from a hamstring injury that has kept him on the sidelines for two months at Ajax Amsterdam.

Additional players to join camp on December 27:
Darren Keet (Kortrijk, Belgium), Erick Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Anele Ngcongca (Genk, Belgium), Andile Jali (Orlando Pirates), Teko Modise (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongani Khumalo (PAOK, Greece), Ricardo Nunes (Zilina, Slovakia), Thulani Serero (Ajax Amsterdam, Holland), Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Benni McCarthy (Orlando Pirates), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Crystal Palace, England), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic, England)

South Africa squad to face Malawi:

Name Club
Itumeleng Khune Kaizer Chiefs
Wayne Sandilands
Mamelodi Sundowns
Senzo Meyiwa Orlando Pirates
Bevan Fransman SuperSport United
Thabo Nthethe Bloemfontein Celtic
Siyabonga Sangweni Orlando Pirates
Siyanda Xulu FC Rostov, Russia
Siboniso Gaxa Kaizer Chiefs
Tsepo Masilela
Kaizer Chiefs
Thabo Matlaba Orlando Pirates
Oupa Manyisa Orlando Pirates
Reneilwe Letsholonyane Kaizer Chiefs
Siphiwe Tshabalala Kaizer Chiefs
Sifiso Myeni
Orlando Pirates
Thanduyise Khuboni Lamontville Golden Arrows
May Mahlangu
Helsingborg, Sweden
Delron Buckley
Maritzburg United
Lerato Chabangu Moroka Swallows
Thuso Phala
Platinum Stars
Ayanda Patosi
Lokeren, Belgium
Daine Klate Orlando Pirates

Bernard Parker
Kaizer Chiefs
Lehlohonolo Majoro Kaizer Chiefs
Tokelo Rantie
Malmo, Sweden