thumbnail Hello,

Swallows have a losing cup record in finals while SuperSport are even

As Moroka Swallows and SuperSport United go into the MTN8 final at the Orlando Stadium on Saturday, both clubs will be wary of unwanted statistics.

Swallows, who have been around a lot longer than SuperSport, have lost more cup finals than they have won while SuperSport have succeeded in exactly as many finals as they have lost.

Swallows’ cup final record is eight wins and 11 defeats, including their last cup final appearance two years ago.

SuperSport play a second successive final after beating Mamelodi Sundowns in May’s Nedbank Cup final at the same venue. If they win they will have turned a negative cup final record into a positive one.

Swallows play in their 16th cup final since they lost 7-6 on aggregate to Orlando Pirates in the 1974 Top Eight Cup. Their first success came in the same competition just 12 months after they won over two legs against Chiefs.

In the top eight, Swallows have been runners-up six times but won just twice – the last time in 1979 against Pirates.

SuperSport’s first cup final appearance came in the 1999 BoB Save Super Bowl when they edged Kaizer Chiefs to the title.

Under Pitso Mosimane they then had a run of five successive final appearances – starting with the 2004 SAA Supa8 where they beat Chiefs with a Phil Evans penalty before losing to the same club just months later in the Coca-Cola Cup final and beating Wits in the ABSA Cup decider.

The next season they lost to Bloemfontein Celtic in the SAA Supa8 final in Bloemfontein and then lost on post match penalties to Jomo Cosmos in the Coca-Cola Cup final at the same venue. Their run ended in the first round of the 2006 ABSA Cup where they lost 3-1 to Chiefs.

Successes (8): 1983, 1989, 1992, 2004, 2009 FA Cup; 1975, 1979 Top Eight Cup; 1979 Champion of Champions
Failures (11): 1980 FA Cup; 1986, 1989 League Cup; 1974, 1982, 1984, 2003, 2010 Top Eight Cup; 1973, 1987, 1990 Champion of Champions

Successes (4): 1999, 2005, 2012 FA Cup; 2004 Top Eight Cup
Failures (4): 2004, 2005 League Cup; 2005, 2006 Top Eight Cup