Angola cut four players in naming their final squad to do battle during the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations

Angola decide to keep faith with their new striker Guilherme Afonso in their final 23-man squad, with not many other surprises in the final selection

Angola, who are set to play hosts South Africa, newcomers Cape Verde and Morocco during the group stages of the Africa Cup of Nations named their final 23-man squad on Tuesday.

Angola’s coach Gustavo Ferrin decided to keep faith with Guilherme Afonso, despite speculation over whether the striker would make the final cut.

Afonso is one of nine internationally-based players in the squad. There were not many other surprises in the final selection with star striker Manucho being expected to lead the team's charge up-front, with the experienced midfielder Gilberto looking to control proceedings in the middle of the park for the Angolans. 

Four locally-based midfielders did not make the final 23 with Ary from Primeiro Agosto, Mabina of Petro Atletico, Paty of InterClube and Ito from Progresso Sambizanga being sent home. The squad is as follows:

Name Club
Lamas Petro Atletico
Landu Recreativo Libolo
Neblu Primeiro Agosto
Amaro Primeiro Agosto
Bastos Primeiro Agosto
Dani Massunguna Primeiro Agosto
Fabricio InterClube
Marco Airosa AEL Limassol
Lunguinha Kabuscorp
Mingo Bille InterClube
Pirolito InterClube
Zuela Apoel Nicosia
Dede AEL Limassol
Gilberto AEL Limassol
Manucho Dinis Primeiro Agosto
Manuel AS Aviacao
Miguel Petro Atletico
Djalma Kasimpassa
Geraldo Parana
Guilherme Afonso FC Vaduz
Manucho Real Valladolid
Mateusa Nacional
Yano Progresso Sambizanga