Bobby explains the exclusion of Dladla, Jambo, Motaung Jnr and Ritchie in Chiefs' Caf list

Dladla, Motaung Junior, Jambo and Ritchie have all missed out on the opportunity to play in the preliminary rounds of the 2014 Caf Champions League


By Ernest Makhaya

Kaizer Chiefs football manager Bobby Motaung has explained the reasons behind registering only 25 players for the Caf Champions League campaign which starts early next month.

Josta Dladla, Jimmy Jambo, Keegan Ritchie and Kaizer Motaung Junior have all been left out of the Caf Champions League preliminary rounds although they can still be included should Chiefs make it to the group stages.

And Motaung feels that the registered squad is more than capable of progressing to the group stages, but said the main reason was to leave their options wide open for when they need to add players at the end of this season.  

“We had a space of 30, but we have registered only 25 players for now given that we could add a few more players at the end of the season,” Motaung told Goal.

“Obviously we didn’t put big squad at the moment, because we still have to qualify to get to the group stages.

“And also we needed to create balance in the team, and we feel that there’s enough depth at the moment,” concluded.

Motaung also confirmed that striker Katlego Mphela will not be included in the squad even if he can join the club before the end of the month.

Mphela signed a pre-contract with Chiefs a few weeks ago, and Motaung revealed that they are still in talks with Sundowns for the early release of the 29-year-old former SuperSport United forward.

Full squad:


Brilliant Khuzwayo, Itumeleng Khune, Reyaad Pieterse.


Erick Mathoho, Ivan Bukenya, Kgotso Moleko, Lorenzo Gordinho, Morgan Gould, Siboniso Gaxa, Simphiwe Mtsweni, Tefu Mashamaite, Tsepo Masilela.


George Lebese, George Maluleka, Lucky Baloyi, Mandla Masango, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Siyabonga Nkosi, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Philani Cele, Willard Katsande.


Bernard Parker, Kingston Nkhatha, Knowledge Musona, Mathew Rusike. 

Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on Facebook