Caf names Nigeria as 2013 Glo-Caf Awards host

Lagos has been named the host city of the 21st edition of the annual Caf awards billed for January 2014

The Confederation of African Football has named Nigeria as the host country for the 2013 edition of the African Footballer of the Year award gala billed for January 9, 2014.

For the second time in five years, former Nigerian capital Lagos will host the Glo-Caf Awards, an event that rewards Africa’s football celebrities for the year under review.

Apart from the African Footballer of the Year, there are twelve categories of the awards to be bestowed on outstanding football personalities which includes;  African Player of the Year - Based in Africa,  National Team of the Year, Women’s National Team of the Year,  Club of the Year,  CAF Fair Play Award,  Coach of the Year,   Most Promising talent,  Women’s Footballer of the Year,  Referee of the Year,  CAF Legend,  Africa Fines XI and the CAF Platinum Award set aside to honour some legends on the continent.

Manchester City and Ivorian midfielder Yaya Toure is the current African Player of the Year having won the last two editions while Egypt’s Mohammed Aboutrieka holds that of the best player based in Africa.

Nigeria continues its 11 years wait for a successor to Kanu Nwankwo who last wore the prestigious crown for the country way back in 1999.