Nigeria recall Ameobi for Mandela Challenge

The Newcastle United forward makes a return to the Super Eagles that will face Bafana Bafana in August in honour of the former South African president

Nigeria coach Stephen Keshi has recalled Shola Ameobi to the squad that will play in the Nelson Mandela Challenge against South Africa on August 14 in Durban.

The Newcastle United forward recently became available to the team again after resolving a clause in his contract that made him unable to represent Nigeria at the Africa Cup of Nations in January.

Keshi had expressed likeness for the big striker who he expects to create options up front where the team has lagged in recent matches due to the absence through injuries to Emmanuel Emenike and Victor Moses.

Now recovered, both players will also make the trip back to South Africa where they won the African title in February. They are part of a 20-man squad announced on Thursday by the Nigeria Football Federation.

Longstanding goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama has been dropped from this game as Keshi handed a recall to Obinna Nsofor and gave a first time call up to Uche Nwofor.

Lazio’s Ogenyi Onazi is also called up after missing the Confederations Cup due to a late injury.


GOALKEEPERS: Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria)

DEFENDERS: Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea FC, England); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves, Nigeria); Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Braga, Portugal)

MIDFIELDERS: Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Fegor Ogude (Valerenga FC, Norway); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); John Ogu (Academica de Coimbra, Portugal); Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Nnamdi Oduamadi (AC Milan, Italy); Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria).

FORWARDS: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Brown Ideye (Dynamo Kyiv, Ukraine); Shola Ameobi (Newcastle United, England); Emmanuel Emenike (Spartak Moscow, Russia); Obinna Nsofor (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Uche Nwofor (VVV Venlo, Netherlands)


Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria); Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC, Nigeria); Muhammad Gambo (Kano Pillars, Nigeria); Samuel Aaron (Sarpsborg ‘08 , Norway)