Bafana Bafana squad announced

The twenty-three man squad was announced on Tuesday for Bafana Bafana's upcoming fixtures against Poland and Kenya
Bafana Bafana face Poland in Warsaw on the 12th of October and play Kenya four days later in two important friendlies for the squads preparations looking towards the African Cup of Nations in 2013.

Head coach Gordon Igesund announced the squad at a SAFA press conference, making nine changes to the team which played against Brazil and Mozambique. A notable addition was Ricardo Nunes, who Igesund has been tracking for a while.

George Lebese and Delron Buckley were added to squad following their strong early season form. Teko Modise has also been given a chance to shine even though there were injury concerns surrounding the Mamelodi Sundowns midfielder.

The announcement was largely overshadowed by Steven Pienaar's confirmed retirement from the international arena.  

Igesund stressed the fact that he needs to have a holistic look at his options before the African Cup of Nations commences.

"I want to get a pool of players together. I've had a good look at certain players, I know what they can do and I need to have a look at what players can do as well," he told reporters at SAFA house.

"I need to know which is going to be our best twenty-three players."

Bongani Khumalo was named as captain following the retirement of Steven Pienaar. There were no injury issues facing the team. 

The squad was announced as follows:

Goalkeepers: Ithumeleng Khune, Wayne Sandilands, Moeneeb Josephs. Defenders: Bevan Fansman , Thabo Nthethe, Siyabonga Sangweni, Eric Matoho, Punch Masimela, Luvhengu Mungomeni , Bongani Khumalo  Ricardo Nunes. Midfielders: Oupa Manyisa, Reneilwe Letsholoanyane, Simphiwe Tshabalala, Sifiso Myeni, George Lebese, Teko Modise, Delron Buckley, Katlego Mashego, May Mahlangu, Kagisho Dikgacoi, Dean Furman. Strikers: Lerato Chabangu, Bernard Parker, Tino Ndlovu, Thokelo Rantie.