Heynckes, Mourinho & Ferguson on World Coach of the Year shortlist

The former Bayern Munich and Manchester United bosses retired halfway through the year, but are still in the running to be rewarded for a fine farewell season
Jose Mourinho, Sir Alex Ferguson and Jupp Heynckes are among the 10 remaining candidates to win the Fifa World Coach of the Year award.

Heynckes guided Bayern Munich to a historic treble in 2012-13, only to step down at the end of the season to make way for Pep Guardiola.

Ferguson, meanwhile, won the Premier League title with Manchester United last term before retiring from professional football.

Mourinho has made the list despite a trophyless year with Real Madrid, while Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger and Spain coach Vicente del Bosque are other noteworthy inclusions in the 10-man list.

The final decisions will be made by the captains and head coaches of the men’s national teams as well as international media representatives selected by France Football.

In early December 2013, Fifa and France Football will announce the names of the three men who have received the most votes, without revealing the winner.

The winners of the award will be revealed at the Fifa Ballon d’Or gala as part of a televised show at the Zurich Kongresshaus on 13 January 2014.

Last year's podium consisted of Del Bosque, Mourinho and Guardiola.


Carlo Ancelotti PSG/Real Madrid Italy
Rafa Benitez Chelsea/Napoli Spain
Antonio Conte Juventus Italy
Vicente del Bosque Spain Spain
Sir Alex Ferguson Manchester United Scotland
Jupp Heynckes Bayern Munich Germany
Jurgen Klopp Borussia Dortmund Germany
Jose Mourinho Real Madrid/Chelsea Portugal
Luiz Felipe Scolari Brazil Brazil
Arsene Wenger Arsenal France