Injured Rooney and under-fire Hart named in England squad

Roy Hodgson has recalled the Manchester United striker to face Montenegro and Poland despite a recent shin injury, while goalkeeper Joe Hart faces competition for the No. 1 spot.
England manager Roy Hodgson has recalled Wayne Rooney and kept faith with Joe Hart for the World Cup qualifying doubleheader against Montenegro and Poland.

Rooney was absent from his side's 1-1 draw against Shakhtar Donetsk on Wednesday with an injured shin but returns to the national team after missing the last round of qualifiers due to a head injury.

Meanwhile, Hart may be looking anxiously over his shoulder at Fraser Forster after an unconvincing Champions League performance against Bayern Munich saw him come in for some stern criticism from England coach Gary Neville.

The Manchester City goalkeeper was twice beaten at his near post during the 3-1 home defeat to the European champion, while his deputy Forster made a number of impressive saves to restrict Barcelona to just one goal against 10-man Celtic.

While commentating for Sky Sports, Neville reacted to Bayern’s first goal via Franck Ribery’s long range effort by suggesting: "It's the power of the shot. He's got to do better there, Joe Hart, beaten at his near post. It just goes through his hand. It's not the start Manchester City wanted or the goalkeeper."

The former Manchester United defender was equally critical of Hart's part in Arjen Robben’s goal to make it 3-0, commenting: "You have to say Joe Hart's got to do better again at that near post. That's twice he's been beaten there tonight. He'll be disappointed again."

Here is England's squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster, Joe Hart, John Ruddy

Defenders: Leighton Baines, Gary Cahill, Ashley Cole, Phil Jagielka, Phil Jones, Chris Smalling, Kyle Walker

Midfielders: Ross Barkley, Michael Carrick, Tom Cleverley, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, James Milner, Andros Townsend, Jack Wilshere

Strikers: Jermain Defoe, Rickie Lambert, Wayne Rooney, Daniel Sturridge, Daniel Welbeck.