thumbnail Hello,
Tottenham defender Walker denies claims of diving against Norwich

Tottenham defender Walker denies claims of diving against Norwich

Getty Images

The defender won a late penalty in the Capital One Cup tie, which was missed by Clint Dempsey, and Canaries boss Chris Hughton has questioned the validity of the fall

Kyle Walker has denied claims he dived to win a penalty in Tottenham's defeat to Norwich in the Capital One Cup on Wednesday night.

With the game heading into injury time, and trailing 2-1, Spurs were given a lifeline when the right back was brought down by defender Marc Tierney inside the hosts’ penalty area.

Clint Dempsey missed the resulting spot kick as Norwich advanced to the quarterfinals but Canaries boss Chris Hughton still questioned the validity of the England international’s fall, saying he “made a meal” of the challenge.

"I'm from up north. I'm not going to go down softly," Walker told Sky Sports. "I thought I got a clip so I went down. It was a foul. The referee has awarded a penalty, or the linesman did. They were close enough to see it.

"If I felt I was touched then I am going to go down. That's it."

Walker is keen for the squad to recover from its cup exit as soon as possible to avoid any lingering damage to its impressive Premier League form.

And with the visit of Wigan next up for Andre Villas-Boas’ men, the right back has eyed three points ahead of crunch clashes against Manchester City and Arsenal.

He added: "It's massively important that we bounce back. No disrespect to Wigan, but out of the [next] three [games] this is the easiest.

"We want to get a good run in to Wigan and then hopefully that will give us momentum to get to [Manchester] City and then hopefully after the international break we can go to Arsenal and get the three points there."


Follow GOAL.COM USA on


Related

From the web

From the web