thumbnail Hello,

Arsenal striker Van Persie wins Football Writers' Association Player of the Year, Dempsey finishes fourth

The Gunners forward has hit 27 league goals this season and Fulham midfielder Clint Dempsey finishes fourth in the final voting.

Arsenal striker Robin van Persie has scooped the Football Writers' Association (FWA) Player of the Year award.

The Dutchman has been in blistering form this term, netting 27 times in 35 league appearances, helping the Gunners to recover from a sloppy start to propel themselves to third in the Premier League. Van Persie can add the accolade to the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) Player of the Year award he received on Sunday.

Fulham's Clint Dempsey finished in fourth place after enjoying his best Premier League season, netting 16 times for the Cottagers while spending most of the season playing as a midfielder. The American was surprisingly not included in the PFA finalist list and is the only player in the top four not playing for a top-four team in the EPL.

Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney, whose 26 goals this term have aided the Red Devils' title push, came second in the voting for the award, while teammate Paul Scholes is something of a shock inclusion in third place having only come out of retirement in January to ease Sir Alex Ferguson's midfield woes.

Follow GOAL.COM USA on