Senegal disqualified from 2013 Africa Cup of Nations after fan riot

The CAF has made the decision to award last week's abandoned match to Ivory Coast, while the seedings for the tournament have also been announced ahead of the finals draw.
Senegal has been banned from the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations after their fans incited a riot that saw their match against Ivory Coast abandoned on Saturday.

With the Elephants 2-0 up in the match after a Didier Drogba goal, and winning 6-2 on aggregate, the home fans began throwing various missiles including stones, bottles and firecrackers onto the playing surface in Dakar before the referee took the players off the field after 74 minutes. The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has made the decision to officially confirm the 2-0 scoreline as the final result, though this may not be the end of the sanctions imposed on the 2002 World Cup quarter-finalists.

The decision means Ivory Coast will join hosts South Africa, Zambia and Ghana in Pot One for the competition, which begins in January. Pot Two is occupied by Mali, Tunisia, Angola and Nigeria while Algeria, Burkina Faso, Morocco and Niger are in Pot Three.

Ethiopia, who reached the tournament for the first time in 31 years, will be alongside Togo, Cape Verde and DR Congo in Pot Four. The draw takes place in Durban on the Oct. 24.

Follow GOAL.COM on