GLO-CAF Player Of The Year Top Three: Didier Drogba, Samuel Eto’o & Asamoah Gyan Nominated

The three players are the nominees for the Glo-CAF Player of the Year 2010.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has revealed the names of the three players retained from a shortlist of ten for the 2010 Glo-CAF Player of the Year award.

Didier Drogba (Chelsea & Cote d’Ivoire), Samuel Eto’o Fils (Inter Milan & Cameroon) and Asamoah Gyan (Sunderland & Ghana) are in the race for the most prestigious individual honour in African football, with the winner to be announced later this month in Cairo, Egypt during a gala event.

Votes from the respective senior national teams' Head Coaches or Technical Director of the 53 National Associations affiliated to CAF will decide the best from the trio.

The contenders were nominated by the Media Technical and Football Committees of CAF, taking into consideration their performance during the year under review, January 2010 to November 2010.

Only Gyan has not been awarded an African Player of the Year among the three on display. Eto’o boasts of three in a row, 2003, 2004, 2005, equalling Ghana-born Abedi Pele’s record of keeping the award for three consecutive years (1991, 1992, 1993).

Drogba is the current holder, his second after a 2006 distinction.

For the latest news and updates from, follow our Twitter account and join USA's Facebook fan page!