Klose equals Ronaldo's World Cup goal-scoring record

The 36-year-old striker came off the bench and scored for Germany against Ghana to seal his place in the history books.
Germany attacker Miroslav Klose has equaled Brazil legend Ronaldo's World Cup goalscoring record following his tap in in the Group G game against Ghana.

The experienced forward started the encounter on the bench, but was brought on minutes after Germany went 2-1 down against the Africans.

Since his last World Cup in 2006, Ronaldo's record tally of 15 goals in the competition had remained untouched, but Klose has now leveled at last in his fourth World Cup.

PHOTOS: Beautiful people in BrazilBrazil protests | Soccer fanatics | Fan tattoos

The Lazio striker netted five goals at the 2002 World Cup, five times four years later, four in 2010 and now once during this summer's showpiece.

Ronaldo amassed his strikes across three tournaments, in 1998, 2002 and 2006 - and lifted the famous trophy once along the way, 12 years ago this summer.

   Name       Goals      
Ronaldo 15
Miroslav Klose 15
Gerd Muller 14 
 Just Fontaine 13
 Pele 12 
 Sandor Kocsis 11 
 Jurgen Klinsmann 11 
 Helmut Rahn 10 
 Gary Lineker 10 
 Gabriel Batistuta 10 
Klose, 36, was level on goals with compatriot, Gerd Muller, who starred in the 1970 and 1974 tournaments and boasts an incredible ratio of 1.08 goals per World Cup games.

Just two strikes adrift of the two all-time leading goalscorers is former France star Just Fontaine - who found the back of the net 13 times during the 1958 tournament. That remains a record haul for goals in a single edition.

With 12 goals in four World Cups between 1958 and 1970, Brazil legend Pele is a prominent figure in the top 10, and was the star as his country lifted the trophy three times in that period.

A goal further back, two players are on 11, in the shape of Hungary great Sandor Kocsis and Germany hero Jurgen Klinsmann, who has taken charge of the USA in Brazil.

The final three places in our list are occupied by another German, Helmut Rahn, in 1954 and 1958, former England striker Gary Lineker and one of Argentina's most lethal hitmen of all-time, Gabriel Batistuta.

All three players scored 10 World Cup goals.