Ruiz and Campbell named in provisional Costa Rica squad

Everton defender Bryan Oviedo misses out as expected after failing to recover from a broken leg but there are few other surprises Jorge Luis Pinto's selection

Bryan Ruiz and Joel Campbell are among 11-Europe based players selected in Costa Rica's provisional World Cup squad.

Ruiz, on loan at PSV from Fulham, and Campbell are likely to play key roles in Jorge Luis Pinto's team in a Group D featuring Uruguay, Italy and England.

Arsenal-owned forward Campbell, who scored a famous goal against Manchester United while on loan at Olympiakos this season, is a 31-time international with nine goals to his name.

Everton's Bryan Oviedo is missing as expected, failing to recover in time from a broken leg suffered in January.

Pinto added Hansell Arauz, Esteban Alvarado, Ariel Rodriguez and Jairo Arrieta to make up his 30, but they are reserves and will not take part in the training camp.

MLS quartet Giancarlo Gonzalez and Waylon Francis (Columbus Crew), Roy Miller (New York Red Bulls) and Alvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake) are also in the squad.

Costa Rica has friendlies against Japan and the Republic of Ireland in the United States before its World Cup begins with a clash against Uruguay on June 14.

Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Daniel Cambronero (Herediano), Keylor Navas (Levante), Patrick Pemberton (Alajuelense)

Defenders: Johnny Acosta (Alajuelense), Junior Diaz (Mainz), Oscar Duarte (Club Brugge), Waylon Francis (Columbus Crew), Christian Gamboa (Rosenborg), Giancarlo Gonzalez (Columbus Crew), Roy Miller (New York Red Bulls), Heiner Mora (Deportivo Saprissa), Michael Umana (Deportivo Saprissa), Kendall Waston (Deportivo Saprissa)

Midfielders: Michael Barrantes (Aalesund), Christian Bolanos (Copenhagen), Diego Calvo (Valerenga), Jose Miguel Cubero (Herediano), Esteban Granados (Herediano), Carlos Hernandez (Wellington Phoenix), Yeltsin Tejeda (Deportivo Saprissa)

Forwards: Celso Borges (AIK), Randall Brenes (Cartagines), Joel Campbell (Arsenal), Bryan Ruiz (Fulham), Alvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake), Marco Urena (Kuban Krasnodar).