Nigeria names 30-man provisional World Cup squad

The African champions have announced a team of 30 players for next month's tournament in Brazil, with Villareal’s Ikechukwu Uche excluded.
Nigeria coach Stephen Keshi has named 30 players in his provisional squad for next month's World Cup.

The reigning African champions will be making their fifth appearance at world soccer's major showpiece and have been drawn in a group with Argentina, Iran, and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Usual suspects Vincent Enyeama, John Obi Mikel, Efe Ambrose, Godfrey Oboabona, Ahmed Musa and Victor Moses have been included, as well as dark horses Ramon Azeez, Michael Babatunde and Azubuike Egwuekwe. Midfield ace Joel Obi and forward Peter Odemwingie return after several months in the international wilderness.

Emmanuel Emenike, top scorer of the 29th Africa Cup of Nations, returns from injury. However, the injured Nosa Igiebor and Reuben Gabriel are the surprise inclusions in the squad, while Keshi snubbed Ikechukwu Uche, Brown Ideye, Sone Aluko and Fegor Ogude, who have had enjoyed productive seasons.

There are four goalkeepers, eight defenders, eight midfielders and 10 strikers.

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide, Chigozie Agbim, Daniel Akpeyi. 

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile, Juwon Oshaniwa, Efe Ambrose, Godfrey Oboabona, Azubuike Egwuekwe, Kenneth Omeruo, Joseph Yobo, Kunle Odunlami. 

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel, Ogenyi Onazi, Ramon Azeez, Ejike Uzoenyi, Sunday Mba, Reuben Gabriel, Nosa Igiebor, Joel Obi. 

Forwards: Ahmed Musa, Shola Ameobi, Victor Moses, Emmanuel Emenike, Obinna Nsofor, Peter Odemwingie, Michel Babatunde, Michael Uchebo, Nnamdi Oduamadi, Uche Nwofor