Brazil pitted against Italy and France in World Cup draw rehearsal

Three sides with 10 title wins between them were thrown into a pool that also featured Australia, while the USA was placed in a group with Uruguay, Nigeria and Croatia.
Brazil was pitted against fellow heavyweights Italy and France in the rehearsal for Friday's draw for the 2014 World Cup.

Australia was the other team landed in a veritable 'Group of Death' containing three nations with 10 titles between them, with the Selecao having triumphed a record five times, the Azzurri on four occasions and Les Bleus once.

Defending champion Spain was also handed a tricky pool in the mock draw, having been bracketed with England, Ivory Coast and South Korea.

Lionel Messi's Argentina went into Group C alongside Ghana, Costa Rica and Russia, while Cristiano Ronaldo's Portugal was thrown into Group G with Germany, Ecuador and Iran.

Netherlands had 'dark horse' Colombia for company in Group F, as well as Cameroon and Honduras.

Much-debated seeded side Switzerland was paired with Chile, Japan and Greece.

The USA was pulled into an interesting and somewhat friendly group that featured Luis Suarez' Uruguay but also included Nigeria and Croatia. That draw would probably sit very well with manager Jurgen Klinsmann, who could easily see his side drawn into a group that looks much tougher on paper when the real groups are selected.

Mexico's draw was also a favorable one, with Belgium, Algeria and Bosnia-Herzegovina rounding out Group H.

The real draw takes place on Friday, Dec. 6 at 11:00 a.m. ET and you can follow all the drama LIVE! with Goal.


GROUP A – Brazil, Italy, France, Australia

GROUP B – Uruguay, Nigeria, USA, Croatia

GROUP C – Argentina, Ghana, Costa Rica, Russia

GROUP D – Switzerland, Chile, Japan, Greece

GROUP E – Spain, Ivory Coast, South Korea, England

GROUP F – Colombia, Cameroon, Honduras, Netherlands

GROUP G – Germany, Ecuador, Iran, Portugal

GROUP H – Belgium, Algeria, Mexico, Bosnia-Herzegovina