thumbnail Hello,

The U.S. manager has named the 30-man roster from which he will select his 23-player World Cup squad. Eddie Johnson is the most notable omission.

Jurgen Klinsmann named his 30-man provisional roster Monday, setting the pool of players from which he will select his final 23-man squad for the World Cup in Brazil.

The most notable omission is D.C. United forward Eddie Johnson, who was a regular during the qualifying campaign but saw a dip in form and the emergence of Julian Green as an option end his World Cup dream. Bolton's Tim Ream and Puebla's Michael Orozco were also cited by Klinsmann as near-misses, along with Edgar Castillo, Sacha Kljestan and Brek Shea.

The squad will report to Palo Alto, California, where it will train at Stanford University before the final roster is due June 2. Klinsmann said the team will decide on its 23-man squad after facing Turkey in Harrison, New Jersey, on June 1.

The roster includes stalwarts such as goalkeepers Tim Howard and Brad Guzan; defenders Matt Besler, Geoff Cameron and Omar Gonzalez; midfielders Michael Bradley, Landon Donovan and Graham Zusi; and forwards Clint Dempsey and Jozy Altidore.

As expected, Klinsmann also included a few players who aren't mainstays but are hoping to impress in training camp and make the cut, including red-hot forward Terrence Boyd of Rapid Vienna. Fullback Timmy Chandler also features on the roster after being on the outs since the Americans' opening hexagonal defeat in Honduras. Tijuana midfielder Joe Corona also earned an eyebrow-raising recall after playing only four minutes of the final round of World Cup qualifying, though he did play a role in the 2013 Gold Cup title.

The full squad:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (11): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders)

MIDFIELDERS (10): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)


From the web

From the web