USA cuts five, adds Parkhurst ahead of friendly

Jurgen Klinsmann has finalized the 22-man roster that will face South Korea on Feb. 1 in Carson, Calif.
Jurgen Klinsmann has put the finishing touches on the U.S. squad that will face South Korea on Feb. 1, cutting five players from camp and adding defender Michael Parkhurst.

Trimmed from the roster, which returns to Los Angeles on Saturday after 12 days in Sao Paulo, were Houston Dynamo goalkeeper Tally Hall, Colorado Rapids defenders Shane O'Neill and Chris Klute, and Sporting Kansas City defenders Chance Myers and Seth Sinovic.

"All of the players have put in a tremendous amount of work and effort these past two weeks," Klinsmann said in a news release. "We had a great opportunity to introduce some new players into the senior national team program and they have done extremely well. I think they have a bright future, and now they go back to their clubs with a better understanding of what it takes at the international level."

Parkhurst, 30, joins the squad after signing with the Columbus Crew on Jan. 13 from German side Augsburg. The versatile defender has 23 caps.

The final 22-man roster is below:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
DEFENDERS (7): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Michael Harrington (Portland Timbers), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders)
MIDFIELDERS (8): Eric Alexander (New York Red Bulls), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS (4): Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Eddie Johnson (D.C. United), Mike Magee (Chicago Fire), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Follow GOAL.COM on