Klinsmann names 23-man roster for Costa Rica, Mexico matches

Landon Donovan is back with the USA's top-choice squad, while John Anthony Brooks could be cap-tied with an appearance in either of the two games.
U.S. national team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann has named his 23-man roster for the team's upcoming World Cup qualifiers at Costa Rica and at home against Mexico.

Landon Donovan has returned to the A-team as expected, after enjoying a terrific Gold Cup campaign last month. Young dual-nationals John Anthony Brooks and Aron Johannsson have both received their first World Cup qualifier call-ups, and Brooks could be cap-tied with an appearance in either game. (Johannsson, a former Icelandic youth international, is already committed to the U.S. after completing a one-time switch.)

"The Costa Rica game in San Jose is the biggest game in 2013 for all of us because we want to win there," Klinsmann said in a release. "We want to qualify as soon as possible for the World Cup in Brazil. We want to get the first ever three points in World Cup qualifying in Costa Rica."

The U.S. is in the midst of a 12-game winning streak, and the team is now just three wins away from equaling Spain's all-time record of 15. The team sits atop the Hexagonal with a 4-1-1 record through six of 10 matches.

The U.S. plays Costa Rica on Sept. 6 at 10 p.m. ET at Estadio Nacional on beIN Sport. Four days later, the Americans host Mexico at Crew Stadium in an 8 p.m. ET kickoff on ESPN and UniMas.


GOALKEEPERS: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS: DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City) John Anthony Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Edgar Castillo (Club Tijuana), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Michael Orozco (Puebla)

MIDFIELDERS: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Roma), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Jermaine Jones (Schalke), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS: Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders FC)