Donovan, McInerney headline preliminary U.S. roster for Gold Cup

The team's all-time leading scorer returns to the fold, joined by the young Philadelphia Union star on the 35-man list.
He's back.

After missing all the U.S. national team's matches so far this year, Landon Donovan, left out of Jurgen Klinsmann's recent World Cup qualifying squads, has been named to the U.S. national team's 35-man preliminary roster for the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Also recalled to the squad were veteran defenders Oguchi Onyewu and USA captain Carlos Bocanegra.

Jack McInerney, the 20-year-old Philadelphia Union striker currently tied for the MLS scoring lead, could be set for his first cap. The forward was recently named MLS Player of the Month for the second month in a row. Another 20-year-old striker, Bobby Wood of 1860 Munich, is also included.

A number of experienced and high-profile U.S. internationals were not added to the roster, including Michael Bradley, Clint Dempsey, Jozy Altidore, Steve Cherundolo, and goalkeepers Tim Howard and Brad Guzan.

The 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup will be played between July 7-28.

The full roster:

GOALKEEPERS: Tally Hall (Houston Dynamo), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS: Corey Ashe (Houston Dynamo), DaMarcus Beasley (Pachuca), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Matt Besler (Sporting Kanasas City), Carlos Bocanegra (Racing Santander), Edgar Castillo (Tijuana), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (Brondby), Oguchi Onyewu (Malaga), Michael Orozco-Fiscal (Puebla), Michael Parkhurst (Augsburg)

MIDFIELDERS: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Helsingborgs), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Joe Corona (Tijuana), Mikkel Diskerud (Rosenborg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Josh Gatt (Molde), Stuart Holden (Bolton Wanderers), Brek Shea (Stoke City), Jose Francisco Torres (Tigres), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS: Will Bruin (Houston Dynamo), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Herculez Gomez (Santos Laguna), Alan Gordon (San Jose Earthquakes), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders), Jack McInerney (Philadelphia Union), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (1860 Munich)