Hazard, Fellaini, Lukaku, Benteke highlight Belgium squad for USA friendly

Marc Wilmots' side will play the USA in Cleveland on May 29 as preparation for a June 7 World Cup qualifier against Serbia, and he has turned to his top talent.
Beligum will be fielding its A-squad when it faces off against the USA in a friendly later this month.

Marc Wilmots has turned to a top-level team for the May 29 match at FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland that serves as a tune-up for a World Cup qualifier against Serbia a week later. The likes of Premier League standouts Eden Hazard, Romelu Lukaku and Vincent Kompany will line up against Jurgen Klinsmann's squad, which is set to be announced later on Thursday.

A number of Belgium players who received the call-up are teammates with Americans on the club level including Brad Guzan's Aston Villa teammate Christian Benteke; Tim Howard's Everton teammates Kevin Mirallas and Marouane Fellaini; Clint Dempsey's Tottenham teammates Jan Vertonghen and Mousa Dembele; Sacha Kljestan's Anderlecht teammate Guillaume Gillet; Fabian Johnson and Danny Williams' Hoffenheim teammate Koen Casteels; and Timmy Chandler's Nurnberg teammate Timmy Simons.

The two sides last squared off against one another in Brussels on Sept. 6, 2011, with Belgium taking a 1-0 result in the friendly.

Here is Belgium's squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Koen Casteels (Hoffenheim), Thibaut Courtois (Atletico Madrid), Jean-Francois Gillet (Torino), Simon Mignolet (Sunderland)

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Ajax), Laurent Ciman (Standard Liege), Guillaume Gillet (Anderlecht), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Nicolas Lombaerts (Zenit St Petersburg), Sébastien Pocognoli (Hannover), Thomas Vermaelen (Arsenal), Daniel Van Buyten (Bayern München), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham)

Midfielders: Nacer Chadli (Twente), Steven Defour (Porto), Mousa Dembele (Tottenham), Marouane Fellaini (Everton), Thorgan Hazard (Zulte-Waregem), Timmy Simons (FC Nürnberg), Axel Witsel (Zenit St Petersburg)

Forwards: Christian Benteke (Aston Villa), Kevin De Bruyne (Werder Bremen), Eden Hazard (Chelsea) Maxime Lestienne, (Club Brugge), Romelu Lukaku (West Brom), Dries Mertens (PSV Eindhoven), Kevin Mirallas (Everton), Jelle Vossen (Genk).

Follow GOAL.COM on