thumbnail Hello,

Joining Reyna and Meola in this year’s class are Desmond Armstrong and Tony DiCicco .

Former U.S. national team captain Claudio Reyna and three-time FIFA World Cup veteran goalkeeper Tony Meola were among four elected to the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2012.

Joining Reyna and Meola in this year’s class are Desmond Armstrong from the Veteran ballot and Tony DiCicco from the Builder ballot.

Reyna and Meola were eligible on the Player ballot for the first time, and were cast on 96 percent and 90 percent of the ballots, respectively. Armstrong was cast on nearly 54 percent of the Veteran ballots and DiCicco was named on 61 percent of the Builder ballots.

Reyna, who currently serves as U.S. Soccer’s Youth Technical Director, played for the national team between 1994-2006 and was a member of four FIFA World Cup teams. He also served as the team's captain for much of his tenure.

Meola was a member of three U.S. World Cup squads, serving as the team’s starting goalkeeper for the 1990 and 1994 FIFA World Cups and then as a reserve in 2002. In 12 years, between 1988 and 2006, Meola earned 100 caps and 32 shutouts.

Armstrong earned 81 caps in 73 starts in his eight years with the National Team from 1987-1994, and DiCicco served as the U.S. women's national team coach from 1994-1999, most notably winning the 1999 World Cup.

The Class of 2012 induction ceremony will likely be scheduled for this summer and details will be announced at a later date.

Follow GOAL.COM USA on