thumbnail Hello,
The NASL Championship: Defined

The NASL Championship: Defined

USA Today

With the North American Soccer League's spring season coming to an end, we breakdown the new Championship format

As the NASL spring season turns towards completion, the Spring Table has become clearer and Minnesota United FC has its destiny in its own hands. The Loons are in the best position to be the first NASL club to qualify for The Championship as the spring champion.

On the other end of the NASL table, only two teams have been eliminated from the race to be spring champion, but certainly not from The Championship.

Follow all NASL games LIVE!

When the NASL announced a new-look postseason format earlier this year, this is exactly the type of excitement and competition expected when it was decided that four clubs would qualify to compete in The Championship.

The math required for The Championship is simple: spring champion + fall champion + two (2) clubs with the best overall record = The Championship.

For example, if The Championship were in place for the 2013 NASL season, Atlanta Silverbacks (spring), New York Cosmos (fall), Carolina RailHawks (with 43 overall points) and Tampa Bay Rowdies (with 38 overall points) would have qualified for The Championship.

When the NASL resumes play on July 12, every club has everything to play for with one goal in mind: get to The Championship that will decide which of the league’s clubs lifts the NASL Soccer Bowl trophy, the third-oldest professional soccer prize in the United States.

The Championship semifinals (home team listed first)

Seed 1 vs. Seed 4

Seed 2 vs. Seed 3

The Championship final (home team listed first)

Highest remaining seed vs. other semifinal winner

The Championship seeding
  • The NASL Spring Season and Fall Season champions will each host a semi final.

  • The number one seed will be awarded to whichever of the Spring or Fall champions posts the better combined regular season record.

  • The number three and number four seeds will be awarded to the next two clubs with the best overall records from both seasons combined.

  • Clubs will retain their seeding throughout the postseason.

  • The top-seeded semi final winner will host The Championship final.

  • If the same club wins both seasons, the clubs with the second, third and fourth best overall records from both seasons combined will qualify for The Championship.