Spain Under-21 squad for Euros named

Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea, Malaga attacker Isco and Barcelona midfielder Thiago are among the major names in Julen Lopetegui's 23-man outfit
Spain Under-21 coach Julen Lopetegui has named a star-studded squad to take to the next month's European Championship including players from Barcelona, Real Madrid and Manchester United.

La Rojita will be hoping for a vast improvement to their Under-23 Olympic campaign last summer, when they were dumped out at the group stage featuring many players who have been named for the tournament in Israel in June.

Five players have been called up that were included in the victorious Spain side two years ago, including current captain David de Gea, whose performances in the tournament helped secure a move to Old Trafford in 2011.

Barca starlets Thiago, Marc Bartra and Cristian Tello will be fielded alongside Blancos youngsters such as Alvaro Morata and Nacho Fernandez.

Malaga attacker Isco will be one to watch at the Under-21 Euros, as will Athletic Bilbao talent Iker Muniain and Atletico Madrid midfielder Koke.

The lion's share of the 23-man squad ply their trade in La Liga, though the likes of Wigan goalkeeper Joel, Bayer Leverkusen star full-back Daniel Carvajal and Benfica forward Rodrigo were also named in Thursday's squad.

"The three national teams we will face in the group stage are all very competitive and contain players with a lot of experience who have featured for their seniors," Lopetegui said to reporters. "We have a wonderful challenge ahead of us."

The reigning champions qualified for the bi-yearly tournament with nine wins and a draw and have been grouped with Russia, Germany and Netherlands in the finals, which begin on June 5 and finish 13 days later.

David de Gea Manchester United
Diego Marino Villarreal
Joel Wigan
Marc Bartra Barcelona
Daniel Carvajal Bayer Leverkusen
Nacho Fernandez Real Madrid
Alvaro Zaragoza
Inigo Martinez Real Sociedad
Marc Muniesa Barcelona
Martin Montoya Barcelona
Alberto Moreno Sevilla
Thiago Barcelona
Ignacio Camacho Malaga
Sergio Canales Valencia
Asier Illarramendi Real Sociedad
Isco Malaga
Koke Atletico Madrid
Pablo Sarabia Getafe
Alvaro Morata Real Madrid
Rodrigo Benfica
Iker Muniain Athletic Bilbao
Cristian Tello Barcelona
Alvaro Vazquez Getafe