Abby Wambach comes up short in women's FIFA Ballon d'Or voting

Despite leading the Western New York Flash to the NWSL final and breaking the international goal record, the American finished behind Germany's Nadine Angere.
United States women's national team forward Abby Wambach failed to win a second straight FIFA Ballon d'Or despite a memorable 2013.

The Western New York Flash star impressed on the domestic level, guiding her club to the inaugural NWSL final. On the international stage, she surpassed Mia Hamm’s all-time scoring record in women’s international football of 158 goals.

Wambach was one of three finalists with Brazilian forward Marta and German goalkeeper Nadine Angerer, who took home the award after leading Germany to the European championship.

Wambach, a two-time Olympic champion, is not only the highest all-time goal scorer for the U.S. women's team, but she also holds the world record for international goals for both female and male players with 163 goals in 212 international games.

German national team coach Silvia Neid was named women's Coach of the Year.

The FIFA award winners were decided by votes from journalists, national coaches and captains. The ceremony took place Monday in Zurich, Switzerland.