Fluminense crowned Brasileiro Serie A champions

The Rio de Janeiro club has won the league title after a narrow 3-2 victory over Palmeiras on Sunday, thanks to two goals from Fred
Fluminense has been crowned Brasileiro Serie A champion for the fourth time in its history.

The Rio de Janeiro club travelled to Palmeiras knowing that three points would be enough to secure the trophy, but it was a lot closer than Flu coach Abel Braga would have liked.

The visitors started the game brightly, enjoying most of the possession in the center of the pitch, but it took them almost 15 minutes to test the Palmeiras goalkeeper; courtesy of a header from Fred.

But, the breakthrough came just before halftime and it was Fred who was again responsible for the visitor's attack. The striker took advantage of a loose ball to put his side ahead, and start the celebrations from the away fans.

Mauricio Ramos' own goal put Fluminense 2-0 up after 54 minutes, but a quickfire double from Hernan Boats and Patrick Vieira Marins levelled the game. However the title was sealed when Fred popped up with a winner two minutes from time.

The victory meant that Flu opened up an unassailable 10-point lead over Gremio, which rose to second after a 2-1 win over Sao Paulo, and as a result of the loss Palmeiras edged closer to relegation, sitting in 18th position with just 33 points from 35 games.

Follow Goal.com on to get the latest soccer news directly. Check out Goal.com's page; be part of the best soccer fan community in the world!