Fenerbahce wraps up Super Lig title

A 0-0 draw at home to Caykur Rizespor ensured a 19th Turkish title for the club and a first under head coach Ersun Yanal.
Fenerbahce has been crowned champion of Turkey for the first time since 2010-11 thanks to a draw with Caykur Rizespor on Sunday.

The runaway leader had the chance to seal the title last week against Besiktas, but a 1-1 draw ensured the club would have to put its celebrations on ice.

However, the triumph has now been secured after a 0-0 stalemate at Sukru Saracoglu stadium, ensuring a 19th Turkish title for the club and a first for head coach Ersun Yanal.

City rival Galatasaray had dominated the Super Lig for the last two seasons, but has fallen away this term thanks to some poor early-season form, which eventually led to a change in coaching.

Roberto Mancini's men suffered a shock 4-0 loss at home to Kasimpasa to leave Yanal's men on the brink of glory, with the draw against Besiktas only delaying the celebrations by a week.

Besiktas is third in the standings, a point behind Galatasaray.

Follow GOAL.COM on