Cristiano Ronaldo and Messi among the 32 nominees for UEFA's Best Player in Europe award

A panel of journalists has chosen the players who will be in contention for the prize, which was created in 2011, with the names of the three finalists to be unveiled next month
UEFA has announced a list of the 32 players who are in contention for its award for the best player of Europe.

La Liga champion Real Madrid is the most represented club on the list, with seven players, followed by Premier League holder Manchester City, who boast six players.

Champions League winners Chelsea and Catalan giants Barcelona boast four players each, while Radamel Falcao is the sole player from Europa League champions Atletico Madrid to make the cut.

The players were chosen by a a jury of journalists from each of UEFA's 53 member associations. The governing body for European football will reveal on August 14 the names of the three players who were given the most points by the writers, who will then proceed to the live vote to choose the overall winner in Monaco.

Barca's Lionel Messi was the winner of the first edition of the award, beating teammate Xavi and Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo to the honor.

Player Club Player Club
Sergio Aguero Manchester City Xabi Alonso Real Madrid
Mario Balotelli Manchester City Jakub Blaszczykowski Borussia Dortmund
Gianluigi Buffon Juventus Iker Casillas Real Madrid
Petr Cech Chelsea Fabio Coentrao Real Madrid
Leslie Davies Bangor City Didier Drogba Chelsea
Cesc Fabregas Barcelona Radamel Falcao Atletico Madrid
Joe Hart Manchester City Zlatan Ibrahimovic AC Milan
Andres Iniesta Barcelona Shinji Kagawa Borussia Dortmund
Vincent Kompany Manchester City Frank Lampard Chelsea
Lionel Messi Barcelona Luka Modric Tottenham
Mesut Ozil Real Madrid Pepe Real Madrid
Andrea Pirlo Juventus Sergio Ramos Real Madrid
Raul Schalke
Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid
Wayne Rooney Manchester United David Silva Manchester City
Fernando Torres Chelsea Yaya Toure Manchester City
Robin van Persie Arsenal Xavi Barcelona