Blatter: Teams Will Be Seeded In UEFA WC Qualifying Play-Offs

FIFA have decided to seed the eight teams entering the European qualifying play-offs for World Cup 2010 in South Africa.
FIFA president Sepp Blatter has announced that the eight teams entering the UEFA World Cup Qualifying play-offs for World Cup 2010 will be seeded.

The eight best runner-ups from Europe's nine groups will be divided into two sets, based on the FIFA rankings system, and each will face a team from the opposing side of the draw.

"We have decided on seeding the teams into two groups of four, taking the FIFA world rankings into account, with the top four in one pot and the others in another pot," Blatter was quoted as saying after a FIFA executive committee meeting.

"There will be a separate draw to decide home and away," he added, speaking of where the first and second legs will be played.

Big teams such as France, Portugal, Russia and Czech Republic are all in danger of missing out on the finals but will be boosted by the seeding system, which could offer an escape route should they all finish second place in their respective groups.

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Sweden, Ireland and Norway will be a lot less happy with FIFA's decision though.

Stefan Coerts,

Want more from delivered right to your door? Introducing " Magazine." Subscribe now!