Messi, Neymar, Rodriguez among Golden Ball nominees

The 10-man shortlist is dominated by Argentina and Germany, which will contest Sunday's World Cup final at the Maracana.
Lionel Messi, Neymar and James Rodriguez have been named among those shortlisted for the FIFA Golden Ball.

The award is presented to the best player of the World Cup finals and is voted for by members of the media and FIFA’s Technical Study Group.

The Barcelona stars were named alongside Rodriguez, the tournament’s current top scorer with six goals, as part of a 10-man shortlist that is dominated by Germany and Argentina — the two sides that will contest Sunday’s final at the Maracana.

Javier Mascherano and Angel di Maria join Messi as the three Argentina players to make the list.

Favorite Germany has four nominations, with Matts Hummels and Toni Kroos joining captain Philipp Lahm and Thomas Muller, who has scored five goals in Brazil so far.

FIFA Golden Ball Nominees

Matts Hummels Germany
Thomas Muller Germany
Toni Kroos Germany
Philipp Lahm Germany
Lionel Messi Argentina
Javier Mascherano Argentina
Angel di Maria Argentina
Neymar Brazil
Arjen Robben Netherlands
James Rodriguez Colombia