Ferguson, Klopp, Heynckes up for Coach of the Year

The former Manchester United boss, who retired over the summer, faces tough competition from two German coaches for the award.
Sir Alex Ferguson, Jurgen Klopp and Jupp Heynckes have been named to the three-man short list for this year's FIFA World Coach of the Year prize.

Ferguson retired over the summer after guiding Manchester United to the Premier League title, while Klopp reached the Champions League final with Dortmund, where BVB was beaten by Bayern Munich.

But the favorite for the award is former Bayern boss Heynckes, who also called time on his coaching career in June after guiding the Bavarians to a sensational treble.

The 68-year-old won the Bundesliga, DFB-Pokal and Champions League before being replaced by former Barcelona boss Pep Guardiola.

The award was created in 2010 as the coaching equivalent of the Ballon d'Or, with Jose Mourinho winning the prize that year and Guardiola a year later. The current holder is Spain boss Vicente del Bosque, following his Euro 2012 triumph.

The 2013 winner will be crowned at the Ballon d'Or ceremony in Zurich on Jan. 13.