Four U.S. women make shortlist for FIFA Ballon d'Or

Four U.S. women made the shortlist for the world player of the year award, which will be handed out in January. The men's shortlist will be revealed on Monday.
Four members of the U.S. women's national team made the cut as the 10-player shortlist was revealed for the FIFA women's Ballon d'Or, given to the best player in the world.

Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe and Carli Lloyd, all members of the gold-medal-winning team from this past summer's Olympics, are among the finalists, which also include Canadian star Christine Sinclair, reigning award-winner Homare Sawa of Japan and five-time Brazilian winner Marta.

The other finalists were Japan's Miho Fukomoto and Aya Miyama and France's Camille Abily.

No American has won the award since Mia Hamm won the second of her consecutive honors in 2002. Wambach finished in third for the award in 2011, making her the first American to finish in the top three since Kristine Lilly finished in second in 2006. Current U.S. women's veteran Shannon Boxx finished in third in 2005.

Former U.S. women's coach Pia Sundhage, U.S. Under-20 women's coach Steve Swanson and Canadian women's coach John Herdman are among the 10 coaches on the shortlist for FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women's Football.

The shortlists for the men's FIFA Ballon d'Or and Coach of the Year awards will be revealed on Oct. 29, and the top three vote-getters for all of the award categories (including the Puskas award for best goal of the year) will be announced on Nov. 29 at a press conference in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

The winners will be recognized on Jan. 7 at the Ballon d'Or gala in Zurich, Switzerland.

Follow GOAL.COM on