FIFA 2011 Women's World Cup: Marta powers Brazil into quarterfinals, Australia edges Equatorial Guinea

Brazil moved into the final eight on a day that will likely be remembered for a blunder by a referee in another match.
Group D

Brazil 3-0 Norway

A world-class display from Marta, who scored a brace, and a goal from Rosana gave Brazil a comfortable victory over Norway and earned the South American side a place in the quarterfinal stage.

Brazil took the lead in the 22nd minute, when Marta outran a Norway defender near the edge of the box to cut inside and moved past a second player before firing home with her left foot.

Norway goalkeeper Ingrid Hjelmseth did well to palm away Rosana's shot from distance near the end of the first half, but could do nothing to deny the midfielder from scoring in the 46th minute after being provided by Marta inside the area. Just two minutes later, Marta sealed an impressive display with another goal after Norway had failed to clear away the danger.

Australia 3-2 Equatorial Guinea

A brace from Anonman did little to prevent Equatorial Guinea from losing to Australia, following an early strike from Leena Khamis and second-half goals from Emily van Egmond and Lisa de Vanna.

Australia broke the deadlock just eight minutes into the game through Khamis, who slotted home a rebound after Heather Garriock's initial shot had been denied by the African keeper. On the quarter-hour mark, a curious moment happened on the pitch, as Khamis' shot bounced off the post toward Bruna, who grabbed the ball. However, referee Gyoengi Gaal, bizarrely, did not signal a penalty and the game continued.

Anonman leveled the game in the 21st minute, when she dispossessed Lydia Williams and moved past the on-rushing keeper to slot into an empty net.

The second half began with Australia regaining the lead, as Van Egmond fired home a cross from the left, and just three minutes later, De Vanna made it 3-1 as she sent the ball past the keeper after controlling well. Equatorial Guinea still reduced the deficit, as Anonman robbed Uzunlar of possession before slotting home.

After the match, FIFA official Karen Espelund explained that the referee apologized for the incident and denying a clear penalty to Australia.

 "I have spoken to the referee," she said at a news conference. "[Gaal] expresses she's extremely sorry that she missed that episode."

Follow on to get the latest soccer news directly. Check out's page; be part of the best soccer fan community in the world!