U.S. Soccer unveils All-Time Best XI

Landon Donovan, Claudio Reyna and Brian McBride led the voting on a squad that also includes the likes of Brad Friedel and Clint Dempsey.
With the U.S. national team enjoying a run of seven straight trips to the World Cup, it comes as little surprise that the past two decades are responsible for the best individuals the federation has ever had to offer.

U.S. Soccer on Friday unveiled its All-Time Best XI as voted by historians, media, administrators, coaches and players, with every selection starting his career in 1988 or later. Last week, Goal USA's Ives Galarcep shared his take on the All-Time Best XI.

Landon Donovan (52 votes), Claudio Reyna (45) and Brian McBride (45) topped the polling, with Eric Wynalda (43), Tab Ramos (42), Marcelo Balboa (35) and Eddie Pope (33) not far behind.

Here is the full list:

GK Brad Friedel (1992-2004)
D Steve Cherundolo (1999-2012)
D Eddie Pope (1996-2006)
D Marcelo Balboa (1988-2000)
D Carlos Bocanegra (2001-2012)
M Landon Donovan (2000-present)
M Claudio Reyna (1994-2006)
M Tab Ramos (1988-2000)
M Clint Dempsey (2004-present)
F Eric Wynalda (1990-2000)
F Brian McBride (1993-2006)

Friedel, Bocanegra, Cherundolo and Dempsey received 25 votes apiece to round out the squad. The top runners-up at each position were goalkeeper Kasey Keller (14 votes), defender Thomas Dooley (20), midfielder Michael Bradley (20) and forward Earnie Stewart (16).

Follow GOAL.COM on