U.S. names inexperienced roster for January camp, Canada friendly

Several players could be set to pick up their first U.S. national team caps after Jurgen Klinsmann named a largely experimental group for the annual winter camp.
U.S. national team manager Jurgen Klinsmann has announced a 25-man roster for the side's January training camp and the Jan. 29th friendly against Canada in Houston.

MLS MVP and golden boot winner Chris Wondolowski, MLS Cup MVP Omar Gonzalez and last year's January standout Graham Zusi headline the selections with Wondolowski's San Jose Earthquakes teammates Steven Beitashour and Justin Morrow included among the defenders, while Houston Dynamo duo Tally Hall and Will Bruin could make their international debuts after helping their side reach a second successive MLS Cup final. They could get the chance to play against Canada at their home arena, BBVA Compass Stadium.

National team stalwart Landon Donovan is not included in the squad as he continues to take time off to contemplate his future, but fellow LA Galaxy players Gonzalez and A.J. DeLaGarza are.

Former Rangers and Heslingborg midfielder Alejandro Bedoya has been included despite currently being without a club, and he, Josh Gatt, Mix Diskerud and Alfredo Morales are the only non-MLS-based players who will partake in the camp.

Fox Soccer has reported that Maurice Edu and Jermaine Jones may be called into the camp at a later time.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Tally Hall (Houston Dynamo), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire)

DEFENDERS (9): Steven Beitashour (San Jose Earthquakes), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), A.J. DeLaGarza (LA Galaxy), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Connor Lade (New York Red Bulls), Alfredo Morales (Hertha Berlin), Justin Morrow (San Jose Earthquakes), Jeff Parke (Philadelphia Union)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (out of contract), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Joshua Gatt (Molde), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS (5): Juan Agudelo (Chivas USA), Will Bruin (Houston Dynamo), Edson Buddle (Colorado Rapids), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Follow GOAL.COM on

Does this article fire you up? Comment below and your opinion could be featured in the Boost Mobile Hot Topics published every Thursday. Click here for more details.