Klinsmann calls up U.S. roster for World Cup qualifiers

Jurgen Klinsmann has named his roster for a pair of games against Jamaica, with Molde's Joshua Gatt pulling out with injury after being named to his first U.S. squad.
United States national team head coach Jurgen Klinnsman has named his 24-man squad to face Jamaica on Sept. 7 and 11 in CONCACAF region qualifying for the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

U.S. national team captain Carlos Bocanegra and Maurice Edu, on loan from relegated Rangers to Racing Santander and Stoke City, respectively, are among the European-based players recalled to the national team fold, as is new Tottenham Hotspur signing Clint Dempsey.

Uncapped Molde FK winger Joshua Gatt was included in an initial list of 25, but the 21-year-old withdrew after sustaining a hamstring injury. Klinsmann declined to bring in a replacement.

"We're not bringing another player for Josh Gatt," he said. "We'll leave it that way."

The U.S. will travel to play Jamaica in Kingston on Sept. 7, before hosting the Reggae Boyz at Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio on September 11. Chicago keeper Sean Johnson will travel with the team to Jamaica for the first game, while Real Salt Lake's Nick Rimando will take his place for the return leg.

"Obviously these are two huge games for us with six points on the line," said Klinsmann. "We are in a good position at the moment in our group, but we are going into the games against Jamaica with the mindset that we want to win both. We feel very confident in the group that we have coming in. We are developing a lot of good chemistry and experience in the team, and now our goal is to become more and more consistent. We are ready to put in a lot of hard work this week and will be prepared on Friday to get a result."


GOALKEEPERS (4): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (9): Carlos Bocanegra (Racing Santander), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover), Maurice Edu (Stoke City), Clarence Goodson (Brondby), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Orozco Fiscal (San Luis), Michael Parkhurst (Nordsjaelland), Jonathan Spector (Birmingham City)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Jermaine Jones (Schalke 04), Brek Shea (FC Dallas), Jose Torres (Pachuca), Danny Williams (Hoffenheim), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (4 ): Jozy Altidore (AZ Alkmaar), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Tottenham Hotspur), Herculez Gomez (Santos)

Follow GOAL.COM USA on